IEEE Telepresence is an IEEE Future Directions initiative launched in 2021 with a focus on advance telepresence technology that would enable a user’s remote presence at a different physical location: a) feeling as if being there, and b) having a similar effect as if being there – in appearance to others and  in effectual action, via telerobotics

IEEE Telepresence is creating a community for projects, events and activities on telepresence technologies - covering topics such as teleoperations - operating/manipulation equipment as if present in cabin/control room; Moving heavy equipment, driving agricultural machines, perform tele-medicine.

Fields of InterestAccelerate the missing technology components and encourage integrated telepresence systems. Create new interfaces for teleoperations. Create Community, Roadmap, Standard


IEEE Telepresence  Leadership


Project Chair

Adrian Stoica 202205Adrian Stoica, PhD is a Senior Research Scientist and Principal at NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL). During his over 25 years at JPL he was Principal Investigator for many government projects funded by NASA, DARPA, OUSD, USAF, etc; he supervised the JPL Robotic Systems Decision, Estimation, and Controls group for 10 years, and is now Program Manager for the JPL Blue Sky Studies Program. His joined IEEE 30 years ago, and during the last decade he has been most active in IEEE Systems, Man, and Cybernetics Society, where he served twice as Vice-President. He is also active in IEEE Future Directions, IEEE Systems Council, and other IEEE Units. He is a NASA Innovative Advanced Concepts (NIAC) Fellow. Adrian founded 3 conferences on adaptive systems for space, quality of life, and secure technologies. His expertise and passion covers several areas including intelligent machines, telepresence, robotics, human-machine systems and space exploration. He is enthusiastic about telepresence and teleoperations – in the sense of being able to see, feel and act remotely – and thinks it will profoundly transform the society.


Chair, Roadmap Committee

Jan VanEarpJan van Erp is principal scientist with The Netherlands Organization for Applied Scientific Research (TNO) and full professor of tangible user interaction with the University of Twente. Jan obtained a master’s degree in Experimental Psychology from Leiden University and a PhD in Computer Science from Utrecht University, both in The Netherlands. His research focusses on multisensory perception and cognition, applied neuroscience, robotics, and human-machine collaboration in complex environments. Jan is also an IPMA C certified project manager and acted as program director for many (international) R&D programs, including a 24M€ program on Brain Computer Interfaces. Jan published more than a hundred peer reviewed papers (h-index 45), held several auxiliary board and advisory functions (a.o. for ETSI, ISO, NATO and the Royal Netherlands Academy of Sciences) and serves on the editorial board of five scientific journals. Jan is the current (vice-)president of the Eurohaptics Society, general chair of Eurohaptics 2020, chair of the TNO Institutional Review Board for human subjects experiments, chair of the NATO Research Group Cognitive Neuro-enhancement, and team lead of team i-Botics (finalist in the ANA Avatar xprize competition). Public profiles: http://nl.linkedin.com/in/janvanerp; http://scholar.google.com/citations?user=3W1xn9EAAAAJ; https://orcid.org/0000-0002-6511-2850.


IEEE Telepresence Steering Committee

Initiative Chair Adrian Stoica, Telepresence Initiative Chair
Chair, Roadmap Committee Jan van Erp
Initiative Co-Chair Gunter Niemeyer, Telepresence Initiative Co-Chair
Chair, Conference Meetings and Publications Committee Saeid Nahavandi
Chair, Resource Center Committee Nikhil Deshpande
Chair, Telehealth/Telemedicine Application Committee S. Farokh Atashzar,
Chair, Partnerships Committee Tiago Falk,
Chair, Ethics, Privacy and Security Committee Thomas B. Sheridan
Chair, Entrepreneurship Committee Daniel Cooksey,
Committee Members Eddie Tunstel
Tom Gedeon
Ljiliana Trajkovic
David Kaber
Arumugam Paventhan
John Blitch
Adrian Adascalitei
Steve Trimberger
Kaizad Raimalwala
Kevin Kempton
Rob Mueller
Leila Takayama
Adam Skorek
Mohamed E. Aly
Jeff Walsh
David Locke
Salvatore Livatino
Terry Fong
Carla Victoria Ramírez López
Jeff Linell
Allison Okamura
Program Manager David Magnoni, IEEE Future Directions Program Director


Participating OUs

ieee robotics and automation society      ieee SMC logo   ieee future directions

Contact IEEE Telepresence Project Chair, This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it., PhD
Follow IEEE Telepresence on LinkedIn